Who can see my number on facebook messenger

Facebook Messenger has no privacy feature to prevent non-Facebook friends from contacting you anymore. Anyone can put your name in Facebook Messenger search and if you have a Facebook account they can attempt to message you, by sending a “Message Request”. You will get a notification that there is a message request waiting for you, if you accept the request that person can message you or call you, if you decline they will be blocked.

August 2016 Update:
There is no longer access to your Facebook privacy setting via Facebook Messenger settings. The only settings you can restrict on F.B Messenger is not link your phone number or contacts with it. By not adding your phone number or contacts you can limit who can call you.
Set Your Privacy Settings In Facebook
The new Facebook Messenger doesn’t have any separate privacy settings as such, your privacy on Facebook Messenger relies on the privacy settings you have set on your main Facebook profile. To avoid having unwanted calls or messages to your phone or mobile device it is helps to have all the strictest privacy settings enabled.

Syncing Your Address Book

One thing that F.B Messenger is doing a little differently now, is prompting you to sync your devices/mobile phone contact/address book with the Facebook Messaging app in order to find other people you know on Facebook. Syncing F.B Messenger with your phone or mobile device’s contacts/address book will add your contacts who have a Facebook account to your F.B Messenger contact list. If you send a message to a contact who doesn’t have the New Facebook Messenger, it will prompt them to download the new app to accept your message.

Turning Off Address Book Syncing

Syncing your Facebook Messenger app with your address book will load your F.B Messaging up with suggestions of people to chat with. These will be people who are either friends of yours on Facebook or who simply have a Facebook account. You may not want to have all those connections within your app. It may also help to prevent some message spam if you avoid syncing with your address book which no doubt includes services and people you may have details for that are business connections.
To find out if you have synced your address book in the past, open the new version of Facebook Messenger and go first to the settings icon lower right. See instructions below to delete synced contacts. You won’t lose your previous messages or previously messaged friends.
Android: Go to the settings icon top centre and scroll down to “Synced Contacts” select off.
Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 1.44.08 PM
For Android Facebook Messenger Privacy: Go to the Facebook App and set them through Settings (looks like 3 lines) – Account Settings – Privacy and set all to the most private settings.
Who can see my number on facebook messenger Who can see my number on facebook messenger Reviewed by Efukikata Efet on 07:11 Rating: 5

No comments